A love for Scrapbooking

A Crafty Blog

Barn Cake March 9, 2010

Filed under: Learning to Live Debt Free — gotta love scrappin' @ 12:19 am

So I would say you all are wondering how the birthday party went! WELL it went GREAT in my opinion.  Everyone had a blast.  Little Farmer got to play with cousins he hadn’t had much playtime with and everyone was well feed and the fellowship was just dandy!  I went the easy route with the cake.  I cut out a barn with my Cricut Cutting Machine and laid it down and with a tooth pick drew the outline.  Then I colored it in.  I was really impressed with the job that I did considering this was my first cake.

So it isn’t perfect!  Neither am I!

So I was getting flustered trying to ice the cake with the white icing.  I was messing the cake up tearing it apart for what ever reason.  I looked at Little Farmer and told him one of these days he would have a good mommy that could bake, cook, clean house, and make sure everything was just perfect; he looks at me without missing a beat and says well mom you don’t have to be perfect; you don’t have to be like Mem and Poppy (my mom and dad).  Yes I guess all children think that their grandparents are perfect; I remember thinking my was. 

I hope you enjoy this week.  It seems already that it is going to fly by.   Last week I didn’t have a meal plan and it sure was crazy in the afternoons here.  This week I have one I just haven’t put it together on paper yet.  Tonight we had beef and broccoli stir fry.  YUM!!  It will include lots of fresh veggies because we had several left from the party.  Tomorrow we will have a salad possibly with chicken. Oh by the way, I know she’ll read this; I got one of my aunts up here for the first time in 8 YEARS!!!!  LOVE YOU, MB, J, and A!  I hope you enjoyed yourselves and didn’t get lost on the way.

 XO,

Becky

 

One Response to “Barn Cake”

  1. mary beth Says:

    shame on me for taking 8 years to get there. We had a great time..family is important…your son, my great nephew is such a blessing…he has the kindest heart and a soul that is pure. It was good to see everyone. The food was great. MB


Leave a Reply

