A love for Scrapbooking

A Crafty Blog

January Menu Plan January 14, 2010

Filed under: Meal plan — gotta love scrappin' @ 3:35 pm

Well, I recently decided to do the Eat out of the Pantry/Freezer Challenge.  Well it took a couple of days to get inventory and such to make my menu…Come to find out I didn’t have as much stuff out of date as one might have thought.  BUT I did find some kind of pickle relish from 2006 in the back of my pantry. 

Starting with:

Thursday    Back bones and ribs with BBQ Sauce

Friday          Sandwiches

Saturday     Soup

Sunday        Hot Dogs, Chili, Onion Rings      Went to the store to buy the hot dogs and buns…a couple of other little items to last the week $10.32

Monday      Turkey Casserole

Tuesday     Crock pot Brown Beans with Fat Back and Cornbread

Wednesday Leftovers

Thursday    Soup/Sandwiches have to run to Wally World.

Friday          Cowboy Beans with Cornbread

Saturday     Leftover Cowboy Beans

Next weeks Menu to follow.

I know that eating out of the pantry isn’t for all of us.  You see I have been married for 8 years.  I live 45 minutes away from a decent chain grocery store or a Wal-mart.   No Target in sight for many miles… When I first got married it was hard for me, yes I worked in a larger town but Farmer was on second shift and I hated being alone in the middle of no where or even coming in after it had gotten dark so I made no stops on the way home.  I learned to stock up on non-perishables when I made the dreaded stop at the store.  It has become habit now.  I don’t go every week to the grocery now but I think I am going to give it a try to stock up on the sale items.  Farmer isn’t on second shift anymore and I am finally after many years of praying, I am becoming more use to the quiet.  Growing up I lived on Main Street in a quaint little town.  There were eighteen wheelers throughout the night that went from one plant to another so there were noise most of the time. Not where I am now.   I am beginning to love where I live and the drive has never bothered me so to speak.  Let’s not talk about the 16 inches of snow a couple of weeks ago. 

So far for us the Challenge has worked out VERY WELL.  I always like to have a menu after I started doing it mid last year but things just weren’t going very well for me to Blog it every month even.  It made after school/work so much smoother when coming home from a bad/stressful/or just long day.  Things have lighted up a little I think and hopefully I will be able to send a post out every couple of days.  Little Farmer has given my thumbs up for great dinners all week long.  EVEN ON LEFTOVER NIGHT.

Until next time

XO,

Becky

 

One Response to “January Menu Plan”

  1. Jessie Says:

    Kraft Foods has a feature on their website that you can type in ingredients that you have and it will offer suggestions on recipes including those ingredients!

    http://www.kraftrecipes.com/home.aspx


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.